Be Sociable
 
Picture
I am deviating from my usual blog topics to write a little about child-parent relationships. It's so hard for me to wrap my brain around the fact that I am about to be 40 years old but the hardest thing to wrap my brain around is that my dad is 71 and is in the late stages of Alzheimer's disease. He sleeps in a hospital bed in my parents' livingroom. No, he lives in a hospital bed, as of last Thursday. He is not really responsive and doesn't move around much at all. My mom is exhausted from physical stress not to mention the emotional stress she has to be going through.

I have to admit I was closer to my mom than my dad while I was growing up. My dad was always working to provide for me the things I wanted and those music lessons and talent shows I entered all the time. What for? I don't sing anymore and instead of the money he spent on things, I wish I had the time with him.  Don't get me wrong, there were a lot of good times camping and vacationing that I wouldn't trade for the world.  He was a stoic man and he loved me by working hard and setting a great Christian example of what a dad and a husband was supposed to be.

So, if anyone is reading this, please pray that God will gives all of us the strength and peace we need to get through this trial.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.